Daily List: State titles won by current Class AA teams

Article and photos courtesy of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution –> Original Article Here

FootballThe best teams in most classifications are the familiar suspects. Not Class AA. Only 18 of the current 57 schools in AA have ever won GHSA titles, and only five have won them in the past 20 years. Two of the past three AA champions, Pace Academy and Lovett, moved to AAA along with power Greater Atlanta Christian. Jefferson, the 2012 champion, is long gone, now in AAAA. So is 2011 champ Calhoun, in AAA. Buford, which won its fourth consecutive AA title in 2010, is now a AAAAA school. Benedictine (2014 champion) is now the only football-playing private school in AA. How much has that opened things up in AA? It has been 10 years since any current AA school other than Benedictine has won a state championship in football. Here are the most recent state championships won by current AA teams, with total number of state titles in parentheses.

2014 – Benedictine

2006 – Dublin (4)

2002 – Screven County

2000 – Swainsboro

1997 – Washington County (3)

1995 – Elbert County

1995 – Josey

1994 – Brooks County

1990 – Pepperell

1988 – Thomasville (4)

1979 – Model (3)

1969 – Vidalia

1969 – Coosa (2)

1967 – Putnam County

1959 – Albany

1956 – Monticello (2)

1950 – Rockmart

1948 – Fitzgerald

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

No Replies to "Daily List: State titles won by current Class AA teams"

    Got something to say?