Daily List: Coaches who won state titles in Georgia as players

Article and photos courtesy of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution –> Original Article Here

FootballThree newly hired head coaches have played on state championship high school teams in Georgia. They are Bill Cribb of Berrien (played for 1980 Lowndes), Justin Newman of Jordan (2000 Shaw) and David Perno of Clarke Central (1985 Clarke Central). GHFS Daily keeps a running count of this sort of thing. Here are those that we know about. Please alert us to other current Georgia head coaches who have won Georgia state titles as players:

*Lee Belknap, McIntosh (1991 Cartersville)

*Dialleo Burks, LaGrange (1991 LaGrange)

*Bill Cribb, Berrien (1980 Lowndes)

*Steve DeVoursney, Cairo (1987 R.E. Lee)

*John Ford, Roswell (1996 Brookwood)

*Ulysses Hawthorne, Beach (1975 Central of Macon)

*Philip Jones, Brookwood (1996 Brookwood)

*Hal Lamb, Calhoun (1981 Commerce)

*Jeff Littleton, Bainbridge (1987 Worth County)

*Michael Martin, Groves (1982, 1984 Valdosta)

*Mike McDonald, Newnan (1987 Morrow)

*Korey Mobbs, Lanier (1997 Parkview)

*Justin Newman, Jordan (2000 Shaw)

*Jacob Nichols, Alpharetta (1997 Parkview)

*Eric Parker, Burke County (1983 Mitchell-Baker)

*Tommy Parks, Upson-Lee (1988 R.E. Lee)

*David Perno, Clarke Central (1985 Clarke Central)

*Ben Reaves, Walnut Grove (1982 Valdosta)

*Jason Strickland, Fitzgerald (1991 Clinch County)

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

No Replies to "Daily List: Coaches who won state titles in Georgia as players"

    Got something to say?