Daily List: Coaches who never (or almost never) miss the playoffs

Article and photos courtesy of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution –> Original Article Here

Football, listCharlton County’s Rich McWhorter will miss the playoffs as a head coach for the first time in his 27-year career. Jimmy Chupp of King’s Ridge will miss for the first time in 10 seasons as a Georgia head coach. Below are active Georgia coaches with a minimum of 10 seasons who have never missed the playoffs and those who’ve missed only once. The list is led by Marist’s Alan Chadwick, who is 32-for-32, counting this season.


32/32 – Alan Chadwick, Marist

12/12 – Chip Walker, Sandy Creek

10/10 – Chad Campbell, Peach County

10/10 – Jonathan Gess, ELCA

10/10 – Franklin Stephens, Ware County


26/27 – Rich McWhorter, Charlton County

15/16 – JB “Jerry” Arnold, Jefferson County

14/15 – Steven Devoursney, Cairo

12/13 – Jim Dickerson, Clinch County

12/13 – Jess Simpson, Buford

11/12 – Donald Chumley, Savannah Christian

11/12 – Travis Noland, Oconee County

11/12 – Pete Wiggins, Callaway

10/11 – Derek Cook, Kell

10/11 – Joel Ingram, Washington County

10/11 – Bob Sphire, North Gwinnett

9/10 – Jimmy Chupp, King’s Ridge

8/9* – Leroy Ryals, Cedar Shoals

*Ryals’ playoff status this season, his 10th, is uncertain

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

View Comments 0

No Replies to "Daily List: Coaches who never (or almost never) miss the playoffs"

    Got something to say?