Atlanta Tipoff Club honors Coombs, Okeke; names all-metro teams

Article and photos courtesy of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution –> Original Article Here

Mikayla Coombs of Wesleyan and Chuma Okeke of Westlake are the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s state basketball players of the year.

Coombs, who has signed with UConn, led Wesleyan to its 12th state champion this month. Coombs also was the Gatorade Georgia girls player of the year. She averaged 16.8 points, 6.9 rebounds, 4.6 assists and 4.4 steals for a 27-4 team.

Okeke, a 6-7 forward who has signed with Auburn, led Westlake to a state title in 2015 and the Region 2-AAAAAAA regular-season title this season.

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution all-state teams and players of the year will be announced later this week.

Here are the Tipoff Club’s awards.

Miss Georgia Basketball: Mikayla Coombs, Wesleyan

Mr. Georgia Basketball: Chuma Okeke, Westlake

Bobby Cremins Girls Coach of the Year (Class 5A – 7A): Phyllis Arthur, McEachern

Bobby Cremins Boys Coach of the Year (Class 5A – 7A): Eddie Martin, Buford

Garland Pinholster Girls Coach of the Year (Class 1A – 4A): Jan Azar, Wesleyan

Garland Pinholster Boys Coach of the Year (Class 1A – 4A): Michael Reddick, South Atlanta

Metro Atlanta Girls Player of the Year: Quanniecia Morrison, McEachern

Metro Atlanta Boys Player of the Year: Wendell Carter, Pace Academy

All-Metro Atlanta Girls First Team

•Vanessa Blagmon, Norcross

•Maya Dodson, St. Francis

•Autumn Newby, Archer

•Khayla Pointer, Holy Innocents’

•Kamiyah Street, Mays

All-Metro Atlanta Boys First Team

•Rayshaun Hammonds, Norcross

•Ikey Obiagu, Greenforest Christian Academy

•Isaac Okoro, McEachern

•Collin Sexton, Pebblebrook

•Michael (MJ) Walker, Jonesboro

All-Metro Atlanta Girls Second Team

•Kaila Hubbard, Holy Innocents’

•N’dea Jones, Brookwood

•Taylor Mason, Norcross

•Tory Ozment, Buford

•Lyndsey Whilby, McEachern

All-Metro Atlanta Boys Second Team

•Phlan Fleming, Cedar Shoals

•Landers Nolley, Langston Hughes

•J.D. Notae, Newton

•Alex O’Connell, Milton

•Lance Thomas, Norcross

All-Metro Atlanta Girls Third Team

•Morgan Jones, Our Lady of Mercy

•Kasiyahna Kushkituah, St. Francis

•Olivia Nelson-Ododa, Winder Barrow

•Jada Walton, Southwest Dekalb

•Sydne Wiggins, Harrison

All-Metro Atlanta Boys Third Team

•DeAundrae Ballard, Southwest Atlanta Christian Academy

•Trey Doomes, Allatoona

•Justin Forrest, Greenforest

•Ashton Hagans, Newton

•E.J. Montgomery, Wheeler

All-Metro Atlanta Girls Honorable Mention

•Natalie Armstrong, Wesleyan

•Endia Banks, Duluth

•Robyn Benton, Greater Atlanta Christian

•Arsula Clark, Douglas County

•Taja Cummings, St. Francis

•Bria Harmon, Collins Hill

•Audrey Jordan, Harrison

•Tehya Lyons, Norcross

•Deasia Merrill, Villa Rica

•Amaya Register, Wesleyan

•Morgan Simmons, Mill Creek

•Kennedy Suttle, Holy Innocents’ Episcopal

•Cameron Swartz, Fellowship Christian

•Shannon Titus, Northview

•Taniya Worth, Flowery Branch

All-Metro Atlanta Boys Honorable Mention

Aljami Durham, Berkmar

Travis Anderson II, Grayson

Kane Williams, South Paulding

Alex Jones, Buford

Danny Lewis, Westlake

Darius Perry, Wheeler

Donald Parham, Brookwood

Isaiah Hart, Whitefield Academy

Isaiah Miller, Newton

K.J. Buffen, Gainesville

Victor Enoh, Greenforest Christian Academy

Drue Drinnon, Pebblebrook

Javon Greene, Henry County

Jordan Usher, Wheeler

Marcus Watson, Buford

View Comments 0
+ Follow
Post comment

There are no comments yet. Be the first to post your thoughts. Sign in or register.

No Replies to "Atlanta Tipoff Club honors Coombs, Okeke; names all-metro teams"

    Got something to say?