All-region teams: Woodward’s Glover named 4-AAAA player of the year

Article and photos courtesy of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution –> Original Article Here

Woodward Academy senior quarterback Ryan Glover looks for an open receiver against Cartersville in the quarterfinals. (Daniel Varnado/Special to AJC)

Woodward Academy senior quarterback Ryan Glover looks for an open receiver against Cartersville in the quarterfinals. (Daniel Varnado/Special to AJC)

Here is the all-region team for 4-AAAA, as voted by the league’s coaches:

Player of the year: QB Ryan Glover, Woodward Academy, Sr.

Offensive player of the year: RB Josh Johnson, Woodward Academy, Sr.

Defensive player of the year: LB Keiston Lowery, Luella, Sr.

Ironman Award (Two-way player of the year): WR/DB Cade Sutherland, Woodward Academy, Sr.

Returner of the year: Jeff Hubbard, Woodward Academy, Sr.

Place-kicker of the year: Billy Love, Eastside, Sr.

Punter of the year: Juwan Gibbs, Eastside, Sr.

Coach of the year: John Hunt, Woodward Academy

First-team offense

QB – Austin Holloway, Eastside, Sr.

RB – Anthony Brown, Eastside, Sr.

RB – Latrell Murray, Luella, Jr.

WR – Nehemiah Brown, Druid Hills, Sr.

WR – Josh Sims, Eastside, Sr.

WR – T.J. Taylor, Henry County, So.

OL – Demarco Mosley, Druid Hills, Sr.

OL – Chandler Sweat, Eastside, Sr.

OL – Lamarius Benson, Eastside, Jr.

OL – Knox Hagan, Woodward Academy, Sr.

OL – William Berkey, Woodward Academy, Sr.

First-team defense

DL – Jahmal Wynter, Henry County, Sr.

DL – Yaya Diaby, North Clayton, Sr.

DL – Robert Washington, Salem, Sr.

DL – Terry Myrick, Woodward Academy, Sr.

LB – Garrett Stevens, Eastside, Sr.

LB – DeMorreal Burnam, Salem, Sr.

LB – K.J. Phillips, Woodward Academy, Jr.

DB – Kenyon Blackshear, Druid Hills, Sr.

DB – Kontrell Yarbrough, Druid Hills, Sr.

DB – Eric Stokes, Eastside, Sr.

DB – J.R. Pace, Woodward Academy, Sr.

First-team special teams

PK – Billy Love, Eastside, Sr.

RET – Jeff Hubbard, Woodward Academy, Sr.

P – Juwan Gibbs, Eastside, Sr.

Second-team offense

QB – J.T. Thomas, Henry County, Sr.

RB – James Monroe, North Clayton, Sr.

RB – Jalen Polk, Woodward Academy, Sr.

WR – Brayden Harper, Eastside, Jr.

WR – Jamari Brown, Eastside, So.

WR – Kyle Zuber, Salem, Sr.

OL – Leander Jordan, Druid Hills, So.

OL – Will Shelton, Eastside, Sr.

OL – Alex Le, Henry County, Sr.

OL – Christopher Mitchell, North Clayton, Sr.

OL – Zackery Lee, Salem, Jr.

Second-team defense

DL – Xavier Perkins, Druid Hills, Jr.

DL – Brady Dial, Eastside, Sr.

DL – Spurgeon Gaither, Eastside, Jr.

DL – Kurt Voltaire, Luella, Jr.

LB – Khalid McCalla, Druid Hills, Sr.

LB – Micah Hart, Eastside, Sr.

LB – Tevin Hull, North Clayton, Jr.

DB – Caleb Allen, Eastside, Sr.

DB – Yvner Fredric, Henry County, Jr.

DB – Artemus McCorkle, Salem, So.

DB – Darien Wiggins, Woodward Academy, Sr.

Second-team special teams

PK – Marlon Palacios, Henry County

P – Martin Rodriguez, Woodward Academy, Sr.

RET – Eric Stokes, Eastside, Sr.

Honorable mention: QB Harrison Aiken, Druid Hills, Sr.; QB Keelin Lee, North Clayton, Jr.; QB Darryl Carter, Salem, Sr.; RB Isaiah Dawson, Druid Hills, Sr.; RB Taylor Carter, Eastside, So.; RB Chaz Mayfield, Luella, Jr.; RB Jaiquan Earl, North Clayton, Sr.; RB LaQuan Williams, Salem, Jr.; RB Tahj Gary, Woodward Academy, So.; WR Billy Jerome, Henry County, Jr.; WR Darius Starr, Henry County, Jr.; WR Anthony King, North Clayton, Sr.; WR Rayvon Kee, North Clayton, Sr.; WR Hunter Falconer, Woodward Academy, Sr.; OL Vincent Glanton, Druid Hills, Sr.; OL Dalton Morgan, Eastside, Sr.; OL Tahze Allen, Henry County, Sr.; OL Colton Dillingham, Luella, Jr.; OL Marquiz Thomas, North Clayton, Sr.; OL Josh McCullough, Woodward Academy, Sr.; DL Deshaun Baker, Druid Hills, Sr.; DL Cam Gaither, Eastside, Sr.; DL Rico Ruffin, Eastside, Jr.; DL Sundiata Anderson, North Clayton, Jr.; DL Toney Smith, Salem, Sr.; DL Treyon Chambers, Salem, Jr.; DL Zack Quarterman, Woodward Academy, Sr.; LB Jaylon Lackey, Eastside, Jr.; LB Chris Phillips, Henry County, So.; LB Shaquan Edelen, Henry County, Sr.; LB Van Nwafor, Henry County, Sr.; LB Ashton Curtis, Luella, Sr.; LB Carl Fisher, Luella, Sr.; LB Nick Helvy, Salem, Jr.; LB Kobe Sandel, Woodward Academy, Sr.; DB Delanie Lucas, Druid Hills, Sr.; DB Jovanni Brumfield, Druid Hills,; DB Jordan Forbes, Henry County, Jr.; DB Brisan Myrick, Luella, Sr.; P Isaiah Dawson, Druid Hills, Sr.; RET Nehemiah Brown, Druid Hills, Sr.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter.

View Comments 0

No Replies to "All-region teams: Woodward’s Glover named 4-AAAA player of the year"

    Got something to say?